Searching the Library's e-Journals List
By Title | By Subject | More Options | Citation Linker | See Also
The Library's "Find e-Journal" page lists all the e-Journals to which the Weill Cornell community has access.
Notes
- To search for articles by topic, select a database from our electronic resources page.
- Boolean searching is NOT supported. Please check your typing for spelling/typos.
By Title
Browse by letters, A-Z: Click 0-9, any letter of the alphabet, or Others to browse lists of titles.
Contains (default): find words contained within the journal title. If you don't know the complete title of a journal, enter keywords that you know (omit words such "a", "the", "an", "and", "&", "La", etc). Click Go.
- Example: "biological chemistry" finds the Biological Chemistry, Journal of Biological Chemistry and any other title containing those words
You may also enter truncated words using the truncation symbol *.
- Example: "biolog* chem*" finds the Journal of Biological Chemistry
Some journal abbreviations may also be used.
- Example: JBC finds the Journal of Biological Chemistry
Starts with: Enter the beginning word(s) of a title or an abbreviated title. Omit initial articles such as: a, the, la, etc. Click Go. This allows the browsing of one or more titles.
- Example: "Journal of bio" finds the Journal of biochemical and biophysical methods
By Subject
Select a subject followed by one or more sub-categories.
To select multiple subcategories, hold down the Ctrl or Apple key while clicking.
Note: Medical subjects can be found under Health Sciences
More Options
Search can be done with each of the options or in combination:
- By title (same as above)
- By ISSN
- Exact
- Enter the complete title (omit initial articles such "the", "an", "a"). Examples:
- "JAMA" finds only JAMA.
- "THE Journal" finds only THE Journal.
- "Journal of the American Chemical Society" finds only Journal of the American Chemical Society.
- By vendor and/or subjects
Vendor (Hold down or Apple key to select multiple vendors and subjects)
Search results display the following information for each e-journal:
- Journal title (which is clickable)
- One of more sources of full-text (which are clickable), and the coverage available at that source
- Notes regarding full text delay, passwords, etc.
- Buttons for more information (e.g. abbreviated titles)
If you click on the journal title then:
- to go to the journal homepage just click GO (leave the Year, Volume, Issue and Start Page blank)
- to go straight to an article, type in the Year, Volume, Issue and Start Page details and click GO. Note: some journals only goes to the journal homepage.
Citation Linker
Looking for a specific article or journal? If you already know the citation details of an article or just the journal title, use Citation Linker to see if it is available in the Library's eJournals' Collection (WCMC and CU-Ithaca), print availability in Tri-Cat, and request ILL.
For best results, enter as many details as possible into the Citation Linker form. Bold fields are recommended.
Enter only PMID or DOI if available. Otherwise, the journal's title (or ISSN) must be entered.
- Journal title using contains (default): Enter the words from the journal title (omit words such "a", "the", "an", "and", "&", "La", etc).
- Journal title using Start with: Enter the beginning word(s) of a title or an abbreviated title. Omit initial articles such as: a, the, la, etc.
- Journal title using Exact search: enter the complete title (omit initial articles such "the", "an", "a". If the journal title uses "and" or "&" within the title, try both versions).
For dates earlier than 1950, enter the dates in the date box as follows: Year (e.g. 1935) or Year-Month (e.g. 1935-03) or Year-Month-Day (e.g. 1935-03-20) or use the pull down menus.
If the full text of the article or journal is available, one of more sources of full-text will display including any notes regarding full text delay, passwords, etc. Click GO on a link to retrieve the full text.
Notes:
- to go to the journal homepage just click GO (leave the Year, Volume, Issue and Start Page blank if it is displayed)
- to go straight to an article, type in the Year, Volume, Issue and Start Page details if you did not do so initially then click GO. In some cases, you will be taken to the journal?Äôs homepage.
If no full text is available at WCMC, you will see a "No full text is currently available" statement followed by other options to assist you locate the journal or article. In this case, always search Tri-Cat (Web catalog) for availability in print format or Cornell University (Ithaca) for electronic format. If print or full text is not available at all, ILL may be requested.
See Also
Last Updated: September 19, 2008